Obligatory gun control post

Posted: February 2, 2013 in news, personal
Tags: , , ,

The one of the few reasonable conversations I’ve had with anyone on guns since Newtown was with my dad.

Naked chicks with guns

Naked chicks with guns

“What the hell does anyone need with a thirty round clip anyway?” he said. I have yet to hear a good answer to this question. I didn’t expect Dad to agree with me 100% on the whole gun thing.

You see, where I’m from you grow up shooting guns, and when you’re grown you usually join the NRA. For some reason, me and Dad never paid our dues to the NRA, and with their recent bone-headed gun manufacturer-hand-job-giving stances of late I’m happier than a carp in a septic tank that I’ve never given them a damn dime of my hard-earned money. My grandpa was a card-carrying member of the NRA, but I wonder if he were still around if he would have stopped paying dues. I’m a little country. My dad is really country. He’s not a redneck, but not far from it either. It was just very refreshing to hear someone with at thick southern drawl talk about guns without jumping to the incorrect conclusion that all guns are going to be banned. And how perfectly reasonable it is to have modest sized clips in civilian guns! It was truly a breath of fresh air.

I own a gun. It’s a .30-30. It’s a big game gun for deer hunting. It is sufficient enough to take down large game. I don’t need a 30 round clip to mow down my food Rambo-style. I used a .410 as a kid for hunting rabbit and squirrel. Nobody thinks that we should ban all guns. Liberals aren’t trying to come take your hunting rifles away. If you believe that you’re fucking stupid and should remove yourself from the conversation. I’m about as liberal as it gets and I have absolutely no fear whatsoever that my .30-30 is in danger of being confiscated or banned.

What I’m uncomfortable with is military grade guns in the hands of psychopaths, untrained hillbillies, and hood-rats. That’s what needs to be addressed. And when people cry “Obama’s gonna take our guns!” they’re just trying to change the subject.

Let me ask you something. Have you ever been on the business end of a fully loaded pistol that holds 17 rounds inches away from your face? No? I have. You’d feel a lot differently about weapons available on the open market if you had. And before you come back with the kindergarten logic of “the only way to stop a bad guy with a gun is with a good guy with a gun” let me just continue to punch holes all through that logic like an assault rifle-wielding maniac opening fire on school children. If I had a pistol on me, and I reached to un-holster said pistol and th…BAM bullet right between the eyes and out the back of my fucking head. Deader than a door nail & my sister’s car would have looked like that one scene in Pulp Fiction. I would not be here to tell you how stupid it sounds when the NRA president uses the logic of a fucking 5-year-old. Besides, if I had killed the guy (I thought about it), I’d have to live with the fact that I killed someone’s father, someone’s son, someone’s brother for the rest of my life. It is a burden I don’t have to carry (and he doesn’t either) because I don’t own a pistol.

If you want to own a pistol, fine. I’m OK with that. I want you to know how to use it, clean it, and fire it with great accuracy. As the owner of pistol, it is your duty to be accurate with it. If you are not accurate with the pistol, then you are encroaching on MY constitutional rights. I’m guaranteed the right to life, liberty and pursuit of happiness. And if you can’t fire your pistol with accuracy, you’re encroaching on my right to life when you try “protect” me but start shooting like Barney Fife.

My view on pistol owners is also why I think a 17-round clip is excessive for a pistol. Pistols should have 5-8 bullets. That’s it. If you can’t take down a grown man with two shots, you don’t need to own a fucking gun. Go pawn it right now if you can’t shoot any better than that. Either that your get your ass down to the firing range until you can take out a grown man with 2 shots or less. Deer hunters practice their accuracy to take down their kill as quickly and as humanely as possible. It’s the least you could do for a human fucking being. If you own a pistol, you owe it to yourself and everyone you think you’re protecting to not endanger them with your shooting ability.

I don’t want a pistol in my house. The eggheads over at Harvard have done some research you should consider when shopping for your first gun. Here’s the too long, did not read version:

In the 15 states with the highest levels of household gun ownership, twice as many people committed suicide compared with the six states with the lowest levels, even though the population in both groups was about the same.

I’m sure at this point, you won’t find it shocking that states with higher gun ownership also have higher rates of accidental discharges, leading to higher numbers of accidental deaths and injuries as a result. BOOM! Headshot The mortality rate from accidental shootings is 8 times higher in the four states with the most guns compared to the four states with the fewest guns. In 2010 in the U.S., 606 people died from an unintentional shootings, and in 2011,14,675 people were wounded in an accidental shootings but survived. Source: National Center for Injury Prevention and Control

I’ll step off my soap box, but if you want to discuss this topic with me further, you’d better bring more than good guys vs. bad guys, Obama is a gun stealing Nazi bullshit.

Leave a comment